top of page
learngermanonline0

Meet a German - Lars from Königs-Wusterhausen

Updated: Feb 6, 2021

In this series, we will interview Germans from all around the world about their German identity and their general ”German-ness.” Everybody will receive the same questions, which will allow you to gain a better understanding of how we Germans really are.


Who are you?

Hi there, it’s me, Lars.


Where were you born?

I was born in a suburb of Berlin, Germany.


Where do live and how (1-Zimmer-Whg/house...)

I’m living in a little house on my own, quite comfy with a little garden. It only takes me 5 minutes to walk to the train station from where I could get to Berlin city center in around 30 minutes.


How old are you?

I’m 47 years old.


What do you work?

I’m with Cornerstone onDemand an HR SaaS Provider. Our company offers HR software but as a cloud solution, that means we are hosting the solution ourselves and taking care of monitoring and maintenance of all the stuff happening in a data center. I’m a Senior Privacy Officer working with and reporting to our global Data Protection Officer. These jobs are not public servant roles, it is more internal advising. That means we look into data protection compliance of our products and services, learn about the local laws globally, talk to clients about their expectations and local requirements and we own, of course, processes if something goes wrong.


Have you lived in other German states? Where, how long why?

I lived in the state of Saarland, in the South West of Germany very close to France for 2 years while I served in the Army in my first term. Two years later I decided to leave the suburb of Berlin, where I grew up, and went to the coast of the North Sea, which is in Lower Saxony, and lived there for over five years. At that time, I served in the German Air Force.


Do you speak a German dialect and if so how often? Do you understand some?

I’m able to speak the dialect of my region, which is nearly the same as the Berliner Schnauze, but slightly different. Unconsciously, I’m talking this way when meeting friends from the region. I understand some other dialects spoken in Saxony or at the coast mostly, but not in any detail. Especially at the coast, it is interesting to notice the difference between the dialect used day by day and the language of the native coast people, which is a minority language now.


What other languages do you speak and how well?

Well, German and English, I think is enough to survive. I was taught Russian and French at school, but it was not enough to learn them at all


What do you think is your responsibility towards the community?

-


What is the government’s responsibility towards you?

-


What is Germany’s biggest challenge?

Germany’s biggest challenge is the fast-growing populism or the shrinking population of people able and willing to listen, think, and speak up against it. This populism led us to a situation where moderate people do not speak up publicly anymore, a real discussion to clear up news and get true facts seems to get more and more difficult.


What is the world’s biggest challenge?

The world's biggest challenge seems to be climate change. I’m careful here, because there are some challenges out there that relate to each other, have an impact on each other, and it is hard to figure out which is the biggest challenge or the challenge that needs to be solved first. Happy to discuss that more in detail, but it could be a long discussion.


Do you feel “German guilt” for the

• Holocaust/Shoah

• Second World War

• First World War

• Other atrocities (which)


I feel kind of a collective responsibility as a German, to be sensitive when it comes to populism and absolutism. This responsibility requires me to make up my own mind and question ‚common sense‘ as well as my own thoughts when it comes to politics. This requires also to learn about the history from reliable sources as well as how society and democracy work and should work.


Do you define yourself as a German or otherwise (for example German, Berliner, etc)?

Interesting question, intuitively I would define myself as a German. If asked that question I always want to answer I’m European, because that is what I want to be. I always push back if asked if I am a Berliner. I’m a Brandenburger, a citizen of the state around Berlin.


Do you consider yourself a European?

Yes, I truly believe in the European idea and consider myself a European.


What does the EU mean to you?

The EU is a collective of states with similar human values and beliefs and different histories, working together to create a common society. Unfortunately, the EU also means huge bureaucracy and some other mistakes in the architecture of its organization and processes which are neither solved nor discussed publicly.


Are you religious and if so, which one do you subscribe to?

I’m not religious myself but interested in the different concepts of the religions and especially their relations to each other.


Have you ever been part of the German military? What are your feelings towards the German Bundeswehr?

Yes, I joined the German Army as well as the Air Force. I think it is important for a state to have armed forces used by a government in the best way. The rules of engagement should be defined in a democracy. But in Germany, each engagement is a political decision by the parliament, which means a lot of political arguments get projected on the public view of the military. I learned how respectful and grateful other nations treat their military members and veterans, which is not the case in Germany. I also believe the military is a chance for young people, unclear about their future to learn a lot about teams, their own personality and life and build a plan for their lives.


What is “typisch Deutsch”?

„typisch Deutsch“ means to me considering all the details and firstly thinking them through systematically before taking the first step. I got told we sound a bit harsh as well so that it often sounds like we are the only ones knowing which way to go.


What is the German identity?

I do not believe there is a thing like German identity, there are individuals with German citizenship and different communities.


What is the best thing about Germany?

Hard to say, I would go with the image Germany has abroad.


And what is the worst thing about Germany?

That Germany missed and still misses chances to take a positive role in international politics and economy. After the cold war, Germany missed the chance to define its role in the UN and military alliances and to use its experience for the good of all allies.


What does the German Reunification mean to you?

I’m glad about it, even if it took me some years to understand how glad I am about the reunification. It is also a huge learning experience that impacts me more and more in the current political landscape. I mean, the German people (decades of common history, common language, art, craftsmanship all that) split into two parts and each part deployed its society and economy based on contrary systems. I realized in the last years how hot this fight between the two different systems was fought in many other European countries like Italy, Spain, France, and much more in the ’50s and ’60s. From my understanding, this resembles the fight which took place in Europe after WW1. Sadly, it looks like the fight is heating up again.


What does the DDR (GDR) mean to you?

I grew up in the GDR, so my childhood and part of my youth were spent in the GDR. I had a short but hard time finding my way after the GDR was gone. At least it provided me with a specific view and opinion on democracy, history, and how societies may work or not work overtime.


Let me tell you a little story that kind of explains what is going on in my mind if it comes to the GDR. I’m working with international Expats in Germany (see above). Some months ago, a Lady from Peru proposed and arranged a visit at the Stasi (GDR Secret Police) Jail in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen. My daughter visited the place at school before, but I never had been there up to this point. I took the chance to visit that place with the expats I work with. You should visit it yourself. After the guided tour our group (or some of us) met again to chat about the visit. I needed some time for myself to get my emotions in order and make up my mind about the visit. My main thought was, I could have ended up as a warden or investigator in this place. From today's perspective, it is easy to say that at some point a human being will realize what is right and wrong. I’m having serious doubts if this is true for any society or even community, which is fed over time with controlled information and structures are established. I also think that the same might occur automatically due to the sociological phenomenon that people want to please other people (in high-power positions) even if these high-power people never even demand a certain behavior.


Is there a difference between “Ossis” and “Wessis”?

Generally, no. But the different age groups see and highlight different things. For instance, pensioners receive different pensions. Of course, older people have also spent a lot more time in these two different systems … I personally lived in West Germany after the reunification for some years. The differences I believe are fading over the years and some alleged differences are simply misinterpretations.


What should everybody know about Germany?

Investigate the relationship between Bavaria and Germany yourself ;-) for advanced readers, look up Austria too.


There is not really anything to know, come look for yourself.


What should one know before coming to Germany?

About Germany or Bavaria? Just kidding. There are so many layers in that question. I would recommend visitors, to have a look into it. If you plan a visit, share it here and describe what you are interested in and I’m pretty sure someone will provide really helpful insights and guidance.



Königs-Wusterhausen, Brandenburg



Lars Marten, Königs-Wusterhausen

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page