top of page
learngermanonline0

Meet a German - Christiane from Graz

Updated: Mar 5, 2021

In this series, we will interview Germans from all around the world about their German identity and their general ”german-ness.” Everybody will receive the same questions, which will allow you to gain a better understanding of how we Germans really are.



Who are you?

Hi, my name is Christiane.


Where were you born?

I was born in Potsdam.


Where do live and how (1-Zimmer-Whg/house...)

I live in Graz (Austria) in a 2 bedroom apartment


How old are you?

37yrs


What do you work?

I work as a research assistant at a Technical University


Have you lived in other German states? Where, how long why?

So far I lived in Potsdam and Berlin, but currently reside in Austria (Graz)


Do you speak a German dialect and if so how often? Do you understand some?

I guess people would refer to my dialect as “berlinern”. But I am mixing it now with some Austrian words…People here speak “styrian” dialect which sometimes I have no clue what they are talking about...


What other languages do you speak and how well and why?

I speak English quite well and a bit of French.


What do you think is your responsibility towards the community?

Respect and consideration towards other people


What is the government’s responsibility towards you?

To keep my family safe


What is Germany’s biggest challenge?

Germany is quite lucky to be a well-developed and rich country. So many things are going quite well…however there is always room for improvement…like treating people equally fair regardless of who they are (gender, nationality, disabilities, etc.), being open to new things


What is the world’s biggest challenge?

Stopping wars, famine, child labor, poverty


Do you feel “German guilt” for the

· Holocaust/Shoah

· Second World War

· First World War

· Other atrocities (which)


I don’t feel “german guilt” for what happened in the history of this country. However, I am well aware of the incredible ferocity that was caused. Unfortunately, we still have to live and cope with the consequences today such as hate and crime against minorities whether this is religion, sexuality, skin color, or physical/mental well-being to name a few.


Do you define yourself as a German or otherwise (for example: German, Berliner, etc)?

Usually, I am not thinking about myself as being “german”. It's only other people that make me aware of the fact that I am German (especially here in Austria, people can tell from the way I speak that I am not from this area…)


Do you consider yourself a European?

Absolutely!


What does the EU mean to you?

Everything! It means freedom to travel and work in almost 30 countries, I feel safe in a foreign country (Austria) always aware that European Rights apply…


Are you religious and if so, which one do you subscribe to?

No.


Have you ever been part of the German military? What are your feelings towards the German Bundeswehr?

No.


What is “typisch Deutsch”?

Jammern and meckern (moaning and grumbling)


What is the German identity?

That is an interesting and yet difficult one to answer. I believe Germany is quite versatile and identity would be defined differently in different areas of the country. Things that define us such as language or food that reminds us of our time growing up is different in the north compared to the south.


What is the best thing about Germany?

It is hard to pick the “best” thing. However, something that I have only noticed living abroad and now appreciate a lot more than before is the parliamentarian government. Having a good electoral system and government representing the majority of the voter’s opinion works quite well in Germany, better than in other industrial countries.


And what is the worst thing about Germany?

Sometimes I believe people have very limited views on certain topics and are not very open to new things. Sayings like “Das haben wir immer schon so gemacht” (we have always done like that) says it all...


What does the German Reunification mean to you?

I am grateful for the reunification. Otherwise, I would not be able to live the life I am living right now…


What does the DDR mean to you?

It is part of my life but only was for a few years during my early childhood. I would not say it greatly impacted me, but I am thankful to (now) have the freedom to travel (almost) anywhere I want which was obviously not possible during DDR times. I am wondering if that is why I cannot stay in one place for long…haha.


Is there a difference between “Ossis” and “Wessis”?

There probably is in the older generation, but I like not to pay too much attention simply because it generates stereotypes and prejudices.


What should everybody know about Germany?

Germany is beautiful and Germans are super funny


What should one know before coming to Germany?

That we have the best sausage in the world :D (and bread..)



Christiane, Graz

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page