top of page
learngermanonline0

How does "having a pig“ translates to "a bit of luck?"




I always pictured myself living and working in Europe at some point in my life. When the chance came to finally do so, I leapt with both feet. Due to my work, I mostly work with other foreigners, but since Germans are highly regarded in my profession, I’m always eager to get a chance to work with the locals. Since COVID-19 became a pressing concern, it’s been difficult to socialize, but one must take what one can get. Overall, I’ve grown as a person by living in Germany, because I’ve learned a lot about common cultural roots and norms.

Because of COVID, my interactions are mostly commercial or transactional. Back when we could do so, I used to attend training sessions with German locals or, after hours, go and play with the local rugby team. Now, for health reasons, most of those activities are suspended. However, while at training, it was interesting to learn which terms translated directly and which did not. For example, “Er kann Himmel und Hölle in Bewegung setzen” translated pretty easily to me. Some things were tantalizingly close. For example, I’d tell my co-workers not to make “asses” of themselves. My counterparts were warned not to make “apes” of themselves. Some things weren’t so readily apparent. I’m not sure how having a pig, “Schwein gehabt”, translated to a bit of luck. Similarly, whereas we’d “bet our ass” on things, they’d “drink poison” because they were so sure.


Relatedly, it was fun sparking conversations because I have a German sounding last name, but which is actually Jewish. It seems that I have a family history that many Germans don’t get to encounter first hand, so I often got interesting questions, and after enough time, some really good jokes. Some people say that Germans don’t do humor, but I found they love the non-sequitur as opposed to the punchline. I also found that Germans who spoke English tended to think that American English encouraged humor and aphorisms, whereas German was better for precise communication.


I had somewhat expected Germans to be a bit more formal, or at least standoffish. In reality, they tend to have a greater respect for privacy. They also tend not to overshare. Whereas Americans at work won’t hesitate to tell me about their latest medical procedure, Germans won’t burden me with their troubles. I really appreciate that. However, familiarity breeds comfort. These days, the guys who mind the recycling center know me by sight and give me crap when they see me. It’s a very similar situation at OBI, and the Autohaus I go to for maintenance. The wood workers and mechanics both love to ask if I know what millimeters and kilograms are. I’d prefer to keep this family friendly, so I won’t share what I respond with.

I’m really glad I had the chance to live and work in Germany. It was fun to see where my family roots were very entwined within German culture. I’ve travelled the length and breadth of the southern half of the country, and I hope one day I can come back and devote some months to the north.


Zach - Married to another American, Living in Baden-Württemberg

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page